BasementArtsProject present My Kingdom For A Croissant: an exhibition by Nicholas Vaughan

A week, so the saying goes, is a long time in politics. Two years in Covid is apparently even longer, and in BrexitUK longer still . . . Originally booked to take place in November 2020 ‘My Kingdom For A Croissant’ will finally be realised in the ‘Real-World’ in November 2021.

Nicholas Vaughan is a Wakefield based artist, whose work often revolves around political themes from British history over the last forty years. For this exhibition he turns his attention to the current situation regarding Brexit and the cultural life of 21st Century Britain, creating for BasementArtsProject a series of wild and satirical sculptures and collages.

Work in the artist’s Wakefield studio

As we emerge from a continual series of pandemic lockdowns, ‘My Kingdom For A Croissant (Part II)’ picks up where its online virtual gallery counterpart left off earlier in the year. A dystopian fantasy world populated by characters that seem strangely familiar yet somehow not quite right. This raucous collision of ideas inspired by theme parks, Brexit, Gulliver’s Travels and all overseen by Mayor Larry from Jaws, looks at cultural and racial stereotypes and how migration and racism have become key players in the ongoing culture wars.

Tunnel of Tusks’ (Collage. 2020) was exhibited as part of the John Moore’s Painting Prize Exhibition 2021. It will also feature in ‘My Kingdom For A Croissant’.

Tunnel of Tusks (Collage 2020) Nicholas Vaughan
🥐 SPECIAL PREVIEW NIGHT OFFER 🥐

Send an email to basementartsproject@gmail.com with the word croissant to receive a 🥐 at the Pre-Brexit price of FREE at the preview. Wait until the night and it will be a Post-Brexit price of £1

PREVIEW
Thursday 25th November | 5:30pm – 7:30pm

We are open on all of the following dates without having to make an appointment except where noted.

Everyone is welcome. Just turn up.

Exhibition Open
Sunday 28th November | 1pm – 3pm By Appointment Only Book Here
Monday 29th November | 11:30am – 2:30pm
Thursday 2nd December | 11:30am – 2:30pm
Sunday 5th December | 1pm – 3pm By Appointment Only Book Here
Monday 6th December | 11:30am – 2:30pm
Thursday 9th December | 11:30am – 2:30pm
Sunday 12th December | 2pm – 4pm By Appointment Only Book Here
Monday 13th December | 11:30am – 2:30pm
Thursday 16th December | 7pm – 9pm Mince Pies & Mulled Wine Book Here

Christmas Break 2021 – 2022

Monday 3rd January | 11:30am – 2:30pm
Thursday 6th January |11:30pm – 2:30pm
Sunday 9th January | 2pm – 4pm By Appointment Only Book Here
Monday 10th January | 11am – 2pm
Thursday 13th January | 11am – 2pm
Sunday 16th January | 2pm – 4pm By Appointment Only Book Here
Monday 17th January | 11am – 2pm
Thursday 20th January | 11am – 2pm
Sunday 23rd January | 2pm – 4pm By Appointment Only Book Here
Monday 24th January | 11am – 2pm
Thursday 27th January | 11am – 2pm
Sunday 30th January | 1pm – 3pm By Appointment Only Book Here
Monday 31st January | 11:30am – 2:30pm
Thursday 3rd February | 11:30am – 2:30pm
Sunday 6th February | 2pm – 4pm By Appointment Only Book Here
Monday 7th February | 11:30am – 2:30pm
Thursday 10th February | 11:30am – 2:30pm
Sunday 13th February | 1pm – 3pm By Appointment Only Book Here
Monday 14th February | 11:30am – 2:30pm
Thursday 17th February | 11:30am – 2:30pm
Sunday 20th February | 2pm – 4pm By Appointment Only Book Here

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *