PREVIEW NIGHT: Thursday 22nd September 2022 | 5:30-8:30pm

With the nights starting to draw in after what has been a scorcher of a summer, BasementArtsProject prepares to see in the autumn nights with a new exhibition.

Whilst September may be the season of mellow fruitfulness, signaling the dying embers of a year, it is also the beginning of the academic year. And with this in mind, we bring you an exhibition by Slit Collective, a group of this year’s graduates from Leeds Arts University.

Have You Left Yet? is a project that signals for this group of students, the end of three years of education, the majority of which was spent under lockdown conditions. The ability to collaborate and work together is often an essential part of contemporary art practice, and yet the opportunities to do this face-to-face are only just beginning as they graduate.

The exhibition explores the need for control and the desire for autonomy within groups, and how this affects our interpersonal relationships. Creating a cramped yet homely exhibition space, Slit invites you to be a part of their conversation. ‘Have You Left Yet’ is a collaborative exhibition of new works by Daniel Adkins, Julia Dudycz, Georgie Holt, Clarke Lear, Jonny Winter and you, the audience. Using a mixture of poetry, music, painting, photography and film you are invited to attend this exhibition and contribute to their offering.

You can also enjoy the newest, and probably smallest, bit of parkland in South Leeds on ‘The Corner’, created by BasementArtsProject with artist Keith Ackerman, and technician John Barber who have been responsible for creating ‘Jacob’s Ladder’. 

The event is free and all are welcome, so come along on Thursday 22nd September at 5:30pm and join us for drinks.

Exhibition Open
Sunday 25th September | 2:30pm – 4:30pm By Appointment
Monday 26th September | 11:30am – 2:30pm
Thursday 29th September | 11:30am – 2:30pm
Sunday 2nd October | 2:30pm – 4:30pm By Appointment
Monday 3rd October | 11:30am – 2:30pm
Thursday 6th October | 5.30pm – 8.30pm
Sunday 9th October | 2:30pm – 4:30pm By Appointment
Monday 10th October | 11:30am – 2:30pm
Thursday 13th October | 11:30am – 2:30pm
Sunday 16th October | 2:30pm – 4:30pm By Appointment
Monday 17th October | 11:30am – 2:30pm
Thursday 20th October | 11:30am – 2:30pm
Sunday 23rd October | 2:30pm – 4:30pm By Appointment
Monday 24th October | 11:30am – 2:30pm
Thursday 27th October | 11:30am – 2:30pm

CLOSING EVENT
Sunday 30th October | Times TBC

DIRECTIONS TO BASEMENTARTSPROJECT



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.