Former South Leeds Councillors made honorary Aldermen

Eight former Leeds councillors received one of the highest civic honours the city can bestow at a special session of full council yesterday (17 January 2024).

The group of former councillors, who have 170 years of public service between them and include a former Lord Mayor and a Deputy Lord Mayor, were made honorary Aldermen/Alderwomen at a ceremony in Leeds Civic Hall, recognising their exceptional contribution to the council and the city.

The group includes former South Leeds councillors Partick Davey and Paul Truswell.

Patrick Davey served as a Labour councillor from 2002-2018, first in the old City & Holbeck ward and then in City & Hunslet ward. Following further boundary changes the ward is now known as Hunslet & Riverside ward.

Paul Truswell served Middleton Park ward as a Labour councillor from 2012-2022, having served as a councillor in Headingley ward from 1981-1997 and MP for Pudsey from 1997-2010.

The ceremonial position of Honorary Alderman/Alderwoman is conferred on past members of the council who, in the eyes of the council, have given eminent service to Leeds in a public position. It does not entitle the holders to any special privileges; however, it does enable them to attend ceremonial events as and when they are invited to and actively support the Lord Mayor’s charity.

Of those nominated Judith Mara Chapman held the position of Lord Mayor of Leeds in 2015-2016 and Patrick Davey held the title of Deputy Lord Mayor of Leeds between 2010-2011.

Speaking after the ceremony the Lord Mayor of Leeds, Councillor Al Garthwaite, said:

“It’s an honour for me to welcome back to the Civic Hall and honour a group of people who over a combined 170 years, have worked tirelessly for Leeds.

“While their new roles are ceremonial, I am sure they will continue to support the city at every available opportunity, and I look forward to working closely with them as they continue to support the civic and charitable work of the Lord Mayor.”

The full list of new Alderman and Alderwoman is as follows:

Name Title Bestowed Political Group
Judith Mara Chapman Alderwoman Liberal Democrat Group
Dawn Julia Collins Alderwoman Conservative Group
Patrick Davey Alderman Labour Group
Peter Mervyn Harrand Alderman Conservative Group
John Illingworth Alderman Labour Group
Kamila Maqsood Alderwoman Labour Group
Paul Anthony Truswell Alderman Labour Group
Paul John Spencer Wadsworth Alderman Conservative Group


This post is based on a press release issued by Leeds City Council

Photo L-R: Alderwoman Kamila Maqsood, Tom Riordan Chief Executive of Leeds City Council, Alderwoman Dawn Collins, Alderman Paul Truswell, The Lord Mayor of Leeds, Councillor Al Garthwaite, Alderman Patrick Davey, Alderwoman Judith Chapman, Alderman Paul Wadsworth, Alderman Peter Harrand


While you’re here, can we ask a favour?

South Leeds Life is published by a not-for-profit social enterprise. We keep our costs as low as possible but we’ve been hit by increases in the print costs for our monthly newspaper which have doubled in the last two years.

Could you help support local community news by making a one off donation, or even better taking out a supporters subscription?

Donate here, or sign up for a subscription at

Thank you for your support

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *