Council Election: Labour hold three South Leeds wards – Updated with mayor result

The results of yesterday’s Council elections have been declared and Labour have held all three seats in our area of Leeds: Beeston & Holbeck, City & Hunslet and Middleton Park ward. This followed the trend across the city and across the country. Leeds City Council remains under Labour control for a third year with Labour increasing its majority to 63 of the 99 seats on the council.

Meanwhile the votes in the referendum for an elected Mayor are still being counted, we will bring you that result as soon as we have it.

UPDATE: Leeds voted against changing to an elected Mayor by 107,910 to 62,440, or 63% voting against. The turnout was 31%.

Here are the results in full:

Beeston & Holbeck ward

  • Cllr Angela GABRIEL    Labour              2,389
  • Robert Winfield              Conservative         443
  • Wilfred Woodhouse        UKIP                     349
  • Ian Gibson                    English Democrat   298
  • David Smith                  Green                    256
  • Rory Laing                    LibDem                  113

City & Hunslet ward

  • Cllr Elizabeth NASH     Labour             2,402
  • Matthew Wharton           Conservative         473
  • Jahangir Aziz                  LibDem                357
  • Neil Seepujak                 Green                   331

Middleton Park ward

  • Paul TRUSWELL       Labour                   2,696
  • Kevin Meeson            British National Party    893
  • James McFarland       Conservative                412
  • Sadie Fisher              LibDem                       191