Hunslet’s efforts not enough to overcome Barrow

Hunslet RLFC failed to break the Barrow Raiders’ 100% home record in a difficult match with the Cumbrians on Saturday evening (3 June 2017) losing 28-20.

This was new coach Gary Thornton’s first match in charge and the players responded by giving him 100% effort. Unfortunately that wasn’t enough to overturn the team in second position in League 1.

Hunslet opened the scoring on 8 minutes through Sean Hesketh, but Danny Ansell wasn’t able to convert. Barrow equalised on 15 minutes through Eze Harper, Lewis Charnock kicked the extras to give Barrow a 6-4 lead.

Hunslet regained the lead after Jimmy Watson ran almost the length of the pitch after intercepting on his own ten yard line. He offloaded to Danny Ansell who crossed the whitewash for the try and then converted to give Hunslet a 6-10 lead.

On the half hour Danny Ansell kicked a penalty, but Barrow responded immediately when Jimmy Watson spilled the ball from the kick off and Jamie Dalimore scored between the posts. Charnock made the easy kick to draw the scores level at 12-12.

On 36 minutes George Flannagan scored for Hunslet and Danny Ansell kicks the conversion to give the Parksiders a lead of 12-18, which they took in at the break.

It only took Barrow 4 minutes of the second half to pull level again as Ryan Fieldhouse scored and Charnock converted to make it 18-18.

The teams exchanged penalties in the 52nd and 62nd minutes and then Barrow took a two point lead through yet another penalty with 11 minutes to play. However, Hunslet lost their discipline and Sean Hesketh was red carded for a blow to Morrow.

Barrow made their man advantage pay with four minutes to play, as Charnock helped Fieldhouse get his second try of the match and kicked the extras to seal a 28-20 victory for the home side.


Hunslet RLFC:  Jimmy Watson, Josh Nathaniel, Mafaro Mvududu, Cameron Leeming, Marcus Webb, Joel Gibson, Danny Ansell, Sean Hesketh, Jack Lee, Michael Haley, Aston Wilson, Liam mackay, Nyle Flynn. Subs: George Flanagan, Matt Carbutt, Jack Walton, Jack Coventry.

Barrow Raiders:  Ryan Fieldhouse, Shane Toal, Declan Hulme, Eze Harper, Luke Cresswell, Jamie Dalimore, Lewis Charnock, Joe Bullock, Nathan Mossop, Tom Walker, Danny Morrow, Jarrard Stack, Martin Aspinall. Subs: Karl Ashall, Andrew Dawson, Dan Toal, James Duerden.

Referee:  B Robinson