Halifax end Hunslet’s Challenge Cup hopes

Halifax RLFC, a division above Hunslet RLFC, saw off the south Leeds challenge to go through to the fifth round of the Ladbrokes Challenge Cup, beating the visitors 20-6 this afternoon (Sunday 19 March 2017).

Monsoon conditions at the MBi Shay Stadium in Halifax meant that this was a game riddled with mistakes, but Halifax showed their class in the trying conditions.

Photos by Steve Gaunt, Touchlinepics.com

Halifax opened the scoring just 4 minutes into the game. Ed Barber went over out wide, Steve Tyrer was unable to convert so Halifax led 4-0.

Hunslet almost equalised on 15 minutes, although they got the ball over the line, the score was ruled out for a forward pass.

Halifax increased their advantage on 23 minutes. Chester Butler gathered a cross-field kick to score out wide. A good kick from Tyrer took the score to 10-0.

Halifax kept the pressure on at the end of the first half, they almost scored but Butler was tackled into touch. Then as the first half finished Tyrer kicks a penalty from 47m. The teams went in at half time with Hunslet trailing 12-0.

On 56 minutes Steve Tyrer kicked a simple penalty from 30m, advancing the score to 14-0.

Hunslet finally got on the score sheet ten minutes from time. Ryan Ince scored in the corner following a scrum. Danny Ansell converted from the touchline. With the score at 14-6 a tense finish beckoned.

However it was not to be as Rob Worrincy picked up a kick to score the decider for Halifax on 77 minutes. Steve Tyrer completed a good afternoon’s kicking by converting from the touchline.

Final score: Halifax RLFC 20-6 Hunslet RLFC

Hunslet RLFC:  James Watson, Ryan Ince, Aston Wilson, Mufaro Mvududu, Marcus Webb, Joel Gibson, Daniel Ansell, Sean Hesketh, Jack Lee, Matthew Carburt, Jack Walton, Jake Normington, Liam Mackay.  Subs: George Flanagan, Joseph Sanderson, Nyle Flynn, Jose Kenga

Halifax RLFC:  Will Sharp, Chester Butler, Steve Tyrer, James Woodburn-Hall, Rob Worrincy, Ben Johnston, Gareth Moore, Adam Tangata, Ben Kaye, Mitch Cahalane, Shane Grady, Ed Barber, Elliot Morris.  Substitutes: Luke Ambler, Luke Nelmes, Alex Mammone, Chris Cullimore.

Referee: T Grant

Attendance: 793