Candidates for Local Council Elections in May

The candidates have been announced for the local elections which take place on Thursday 5th May. The election will be for one councillor in each of our three wards to serve on Leeds City Council. There will also be a national referendum (vote) on whether Britain should change its voting system from “First past the post” to “Alternative vote”.

South Leeds Life is a non-political blog so we won’t be promoting any candidate or party. We do believe that local democracy is important so please your vote.

Beeston & Holbeck Ward:

  • Adam Ogilvie – Labour Party
  • David Smith – Green Party
  • Paul Swain – Liberal Democrats
  • Robert Winfield – Conservative Party
  • Wilfred Woodhouse – UK Independence Party

City & Hunslet Ward:

  • Jahangir Aziz – Liberal Democrats
  • Patrick Davey – Labour Party
  • Matthew Wharton – Conservative Party

Middleton Park:

  • Judith Blake – Labour Party
  • Sadie Fisher – Liberal Democrats
  • James McFarland – Conservative Party
  • Kevin Meeson – British National Party

Full details of all the candidates standing in Leeds can be downloaded from this page on the Council website.

If you are not registered to vote you get the form here. You must send the form in by Thursday 14th April to vote on 5th May.

For a Postal Vote you must register by Tuesday 19th April – details are here.