2012 Council Elections – the Candidates

The lists of candidates for the local elections has been published by Leeds City Council. The elections will be held on Thursday 3rd May.

South Leeds Life is not affiliated to any political party, but we urge all our readers to vote, the polling stations will be open from 7:00am to 10:00pm. If your aren’t registered, you have until 5:00pm on Wednesday 18th April, more information is available here. To find out more about our current Councillors click here.

There will also be a referendum on the same day about whether Leeds should have an elected Lord Mayor. We’ll try and cover that in another post.

Here are the candidates for our three wards:

Beeston & Holbeck ward:

  • Angela GABRIEL           Labour Party
  • Ian GIBSON                 English Democrats
  • Rory LAING                  Liberal Democrats
  • David SMITH                Green Party
  • Robert WINFIELD          Conservative Party
  • Wilfred WOODHOUSE    UK Independence Party

City & Hunslet ward

  • Jahangir AZIZ               Liberal Democrats
  • Elizabeth NASH             Labour Party
  • Neil SEEPUJAK              Green Party
  • Matthew WHARTON       Conservative Party

Middleton Park ward

  • Sadie FISHER               Liberal Democrats
  • James McFARLAND       Conservative Party
  • Kevin MEESON             British National Party
  • Paul TRUSWELL            Labour Party